Skip to content

In Memory of My Dear Friend, Suzi

Suzi (Susanne) Phaneuf
April 19, 1966 – August 29, 2011

What a rare blessing to be graced with a friend who is not just a friend, but a best friend, not just a best friend, but a sister. And that is who you are to me, Suzi…a sister. For just over two decades, we’ve walked through life together. We’ve grappled with what it meant to grow into adulthood & live out life, as followers of Christ day in and day out.

You’ve been an integral part of my life, Suzi. I have a treasure trove of memories, so precious to me. Time spent laughing, filled with joy over the most mundane things, not to mention the most exciting, too. Long talks while walking, travelling, visiting or just on the phone, filled with so much joy. Even in times of sorrow and tears, those difficult times were made more bearable, because of your laughter and your words of encouragement and wisdom.

A long time ago, you gifted me with a bookmark you’d made. On it are the words, “A friend hears the song in my heart and sings it to me when my memory fails.” Thank you for hearing the song in my heart, Sue. It’s an uncommon person who allows those around them to truly be themselves. Thank you for allowing me to be myself & for encouraging me to be the person God has called me to be.

Michelangelo once said, “Every beauty which is seen here below by persons of perception resembles more than anything else that celestial source from which we are all come.” My beautiful friend, the resemblance is obvious in you. Thank you for shining His light into my life.

I miss you, my friend…and I’m holding on to those memories, knowing that one day there will be even more.

Suzi was a very gifted writer. If you’ve never read her writing before, please visit her blog, Shards of Light at http://shardsoflight.blogspot.com/. You will be most blessed.

“And Truth is strong.
Truth does not back down easily from a fight, because it doesn’t have to.
That Truth can shine alone in the dark, because it can.
Truth cannot be bullied.
That Truth does not change with the circumstances.

And the Truth is, that God is love. And He loves me. And He wants me to be the very best version of me, the one that He created. And that doesn’t include worrying about things beyond my control, but rather to trust in Him.

So today, no matter what happens, no matter what comes my way, I will stand firmly on Truth.

Standing anywhere else would be silly…”

Suzi Phaneuf

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wonderful tribute Angela. Thoughts and prayers.

    September 6, 2011
  2. Thank you for your kindness, Jeff. I’m so glad that Suzi had you & everyone at Portico to encourage and support her. I know you all meant a lot to her. Appreciate your prayers. Praying for you, too.

    September 6, 2011
  3. I’m so sorry to know that you lost someone so close to you, Angela. I went to her blog – she was such a deep and beautiful soul. You were blessed to have her in your life, as she was to have you. With prayers and hugs…..

    September 7, 2011
    • Thanks so much, Corinne. I appreciate your kindness. Blessings.

      September 7, 2011
  4. It sounds like you had a wonderful, thoughtful, precious friend. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    September 8, 2011
    • Thank you for your kindness, Rebecca. She really was a beautiful person.

      September 8, 2011

Leave a Reply

