Skip to content

Sacred Giving & the Panis Angelicus at SheLoves Magazine

PAUSE SheLoves Magazine: a global community of women who love

 

Andrea Bocelli’s voice fills the room. Waves of notes swell and rescind like velvet billowing in the wind.

I hold my phone closer to the wheelchair that my mother may hear the sacred aria she once sang.

The orchestral strains of the Panis Angelicus waken her from the depths of her mental sleep. Bocelli sings of the ‘Bread of Heaven’ that will nourish the poor and humble, beseeching God, three and One, 

“Do us Thou visit,
As Thee we worship.
By Thy ways,
lead us where we are heading,
to the light Thou inhabitest.”

My mother’s eyes open and her lips part slightly, as she listens. She closes her eyes. The music has met her deep within, in that place of communion with the Divine, unreachable to the observer.

To read the rest of this post, please click here. It’s part of the Paused + Present: Women of Advent Series at SheLoves Magazine.

 

Many blessings to you this Advent season!

 

 

 

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh my precious friend…tears are streaming down my face. I believe my heart knew I would need to read this when I could just let myself take in the emotion of your words. I love your dear mother, even though we may have never even met yet. Please tell her thank you for giving me you & your friendship & all that our hearts share. Merry Christmas my dear dear friend. Love you!

    December 11, 2015
  2. Reblogged this on Waitingformymiracle's Blog and commented:
    This is a precious friend of mine. I just had to share. Happy Christmas!

    December 11, 2015
  3. Oh Lori, you are so very dear to me, friend. Thank you – for your encouraging words & most especially for the gift of your friendship. I’m overcome with emotion reading your comment. Much love to you!

    December 11, 2015
  4. Karen #

    Ahh… This blessed me as well. Tears came. You are Precious as is your Mother. Thank you for redirecting my perspective. Such depth in worship. You are used by Him and it shows. God bless you and your beautiful family. I’m so glad you are in my sisters life.

    December 11, 2015
    • My heart is deeply moved by your words, Karen. Thank you! I’m so glad I am, too, without her I’d not have met you, too! Blessings to you!

      December 11, 2015

Leave a Reply

